Contra & English with Susan English & Reelplay (An Atlanta DistDance event)
Friday, Jan. 15, 2021 ,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Enjoy a half contra, half English program, some free waltz and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance. Should be a fun evening of dancing, listening, watching, chatting ... come to a dance and enjoy the experience. (Yup, it isn't a skin-to-skin live dance. Just come and enjoy it for what it is, and say "hi" to friends!)

When: Friday, 1/15
Social time: 7:00-9:00pm US Eastern time
Optional tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30.
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00
Caller: Susan English
Band: Reelplay
Link

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything - the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

A caller for more than 30 years, Susan English is known for her eclectic and fun programs. She founded the Wooster on-line dance where we've seen or heard everything from film scores to schottisches. You are guaranteed a clear teaching and a fun program of contras, ECDs, and a pair of waltzes on Friday with Susan.

Reelplay is a New England-style contra dance band from Atlanta with Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion) playing a mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!"

Listen to Reelplay here.

The program is selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and be with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, January 15, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, January 15, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, January 15, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, January 15, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, January 16, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top