ECD with Sharon Spangler, Vicki Swan & Jonny Dyer (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, Jan. 11, 2021 ,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

A pair of the finest ECD players in the UK will be providing music for our Monday ECD. (As a musician, I'd love to grow up and be them some day.) Special treat: Vicki will be playing both flute and nyckelharpa, the Swedish keyed fiddle that has been described as the most ethereal of instruments, equally at home playing Bach or playing Swedish folk music. Please join us for what should be a wonderful evening of music and dance.

Program wise, I could say this: Atossa's Gift to Elizabeth to celebrate their being New Friends was not a dune buggy – it was an Ore Boggy, presented at a party held at Apley House right after the Early Frost and hosted by Mr. Isaac, quite the Mover and Shaker, who seemed inseparable from his Maggot (except in this sentence).

Join us for an all-ECD Atlanta DistDance!
When: Monday, January 11
Social time: 7:00-9:15 pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Sharon Spangler
Band: Johnny Dyer and Vicki Swan
Event Link

Enjoy dancing and watching your friends dance, chat and socialize, get some exercise, and enjoy good music. The program of English Country Dances (and a free waltz or two) is selected to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people.

Calling weekly for the Symmetry ECD dances, Sharon Spangler entertains dancers from California to the UK. Here's what her dancers are saying: "She said exactly the words you needed to hear at exactly the correct time . . . the one dance I rearrange my whole schedule to not miss . . . a brilliant programme. THANK YOU Sharon and all involved in giving us the joy of dancing."

Award-winning multi-instrumentalist Vicki Swan (limiting herself to nyckelharpa and flute for this evening) and competition-winning guitarist Jonny Dyer (piano and accordion) are well known on the British ECD scene. They have played many of the larger UK festivals, dance weekends and smaller events around the country.

The duo has released about 7 CDs and, two-thirds of Purcell’s Polypohonic Party, released their ECD album - An Invitation to Dance - in 2017. Equally at home in contra the pair are known both for their drive and sensitivity to any tune they play. Danceability is core for them.

Once known mainly for for their instrumental skills with Scottish smallpipes, accordion and Swedish nyckelharpa, they are also impressive songwriters and arrangers.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom lesson for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting and farewells.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Monday, January 11, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, January 11, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, January 11, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, January 11, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, January 12, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top