View by Week

Tom Kitching: Seasons of Change Book & Album Launch
Thursday, Sep. 23, 2021,  2:30 PM Eastern -  4:30 PM Eastern

Join Tom Kitching live from the Guide Bridge Theatre as he shares the music and stories from 18 months of busking around England. Tom will be joined by Norwegian mandola player, Marit Fält. 

ABOUT SEASONS OF CHANGE 

When Tom Kitching set off to busk around England, a little over three years ago, he couldn’t have known he was documenting the end of an era. From being angrily summoned to return to a County Durham coalmining village to halcyon days amongst fellow buskers on the Cornish Riviera. From the heart of the Black Country to the square mile of the City of London.

It was a quest to get to know his own country better, through its native music, a quest completed just in time for the high street to close and the country to head into a state of profound change.

It’s become a moment in time, the before. What will we find when we all finally emerge and take stock of the worst recession on record and the inevitable consequences of our agonising, slow-motion rupture with the EU?

This is a hybrid event with a live audience at the Guide Bridge Theatre as well as an online audience watching the livestream from home. It will start at 7.30pm so it’s best to arrive slightly early to be sure you don’t miss anything!

“One of the best books on England in recent years.” – Mike Harding

“It’s like reading one long, beautiful song” – Lopa Kothari, BBC Radio 3

“There are dozens of folk violinists, but few with the attack, passion, and ingenuity of Tom Kitching. The most beautiful instrumental playing of the year.” – Sunday Express

ABOUT THE GIG

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, September 23, 2021, 11:30 AM Pacific time
Thursday, September 23, 2021, 12:30 PM Mountain time
Thursday, September 23, 2021, 1:30 PM Central time
Thursday, September 23, 2021, 2:30 PM Eastern time
Thursday, September 23, 2021, 7:30 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top