View by Week

ECD with Cathy Hollister & Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, Sep. 13, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Please join Cathy Hollister and Reelplay for a virtual ECD on Monday, 9/13. Doors open at 7:00; music and dance from 7:30 - 9:ish.Join to listen, to dance, to not feel lonely and disconnected, or ... just because. Whether you dance or not, chat or not, or even have your camera off and don't say a word, you will be welcome. Dance will be selected from this list:

- Sadler’s Wells

- Shrewsbury Lasses

- Bar a Bar

- Set for Spring

- Portsmouth

- The Corporation

- Butterfly Meadow

- Mount Hills

- Leah’s Waltz

- Haymakers

Social time: 7:00-9++ pm US Eastern time
NOTE: NO TAI CHI TONIGHT!
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Cathy Hollister
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. Stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our all-ECD program (plus a pair of waltzes) is selected to be easy and satisfying for one or two people.

Callers, bands, and our sound tech are not paid—they rely on your generous tips. Please use the link above to donate as you can.

Cathy Hollister enjoys calling English Country dances almost as much as she enjoys dancing. She has been a regular caller in Nashville, TN for several years and has been a frequent guest caller throughout the region. She loves the full range of dances from new compositions to the old favorites.

Reelplay, an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts, features Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). They enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound." And, "Ah…. Gorgeous! ….the lyricism, the lifts in the piano….peaceful and lovely." - Daron Douglas. Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom tips for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting, games, and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! If they are novices, invite them for the 7:10 intro session. Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, September 13, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, September 13, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, September 13, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, September 13, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, September 14, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top