View by Month

ECD with Joanna Reiner Wilkinson and Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Monday, Feb. 22, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Join us for an all-ECD Atlanta DistDance!
When: Monday, January 25
Social time: 7:00-9:15 pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller:Joanna Reiner
Band: Reelplay
Link

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Our programs of English Country Dances (and a free waltz or two) are selected to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people. Monday's program will be (subject to change):

Lilliburlero
Bar a Bar
Vermont Friends
Bellamira
Sapphire Sea
Foxfire
Bonny Cuckoo
Haymakers

Our musicians, caller, and sound techs work for free - unless you show your appreciation by adding a bit to the tip jar.

Joanna Reiner Wilkinson has taught English dance for over two decades. In addition to being one of the leaders of the Philadelphia-based Germantown Country Dancers, her calling has taken her from Amherst to Ann Arbor, from NEFFA to Hey Days, from St. Croix to Vancouver, and other points abroad, including many sessions at Pinewoods Camp.

While known for her clear calling and instruction, Joanna loves teaching workshops for ECD callers, and workshops that explore ECD technique, new dances, and how people learn and remember dance choreography. In her spare time, Joanna uses her dance teaching skills to help demystify financial data for arts and culture nonprofits throughout the US.

Reelplay is an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts featuring Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). In addition to ECD music, they enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!"

Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom lesson for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, February 22, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top