View by Month

Contra and ECD with Andrea Nettleton and Countercurrent (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Friday, Feb. 19, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Please zoom on over to Atlanta Friday evening (ET) and enjoy a rollicking but elegant evening of contra and English country dance with Andrea Nettleton and Countercurrent (Alex Sturbaum and Brian Lindsay) on Friday. Hang out, visit, listen, dance, do your dishes or shine your shoes ... you're welcome on your own terms. All calling is gender free.

Also, mark your calendars for an-all ECD program on Monday, Feb 22, with Joanna Reiner and Reelplay. Same schedule, same link.Enjoy a half contra, half English program, some free waltz and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance.

When: Friday, 2/19
Social time: 7:00-9:15pm US Eastern time
Optional tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30.
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00
Caller: Andrea Nettleton
Band: Countercurrent (Alex Sturbaum and Brian Lindsay)
Event Link

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything - the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

Our caller and band are not paid, and rely on your generous tips. See the bottom of this announcement for tip jar information.

New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Caller and choreographer Andrea Nettleton offers choice dances, thoughtfully written/adapted, for maximum enjoyment in a zoom setting. Her clear teaching and musical, melodious prompts lead to an enchanting dance experience enjoyed by dancers across the country

Countercurrent is a powerhouse acoustic duo based in Seattle WA, featuring fiddle, guitar, harmony vocals, and foot percussion. As Countercurrent, Alex Sturbaum and Brian Lindsay display a musical fluency that comes from a decade of playing together at contra dances, concert halls, jam sessions, festivals, bars, and living rooms all across the continent. When dancers and listeners experience the blend of lyrical melodies, groovy chords, thumping percussion, and vocal harmonies all simultaneously, the reaction is usually “How does so much music come from just two people?!”

Programs are selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and hang out with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Tip Jar

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus in the great state of Georgia but are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, February 19, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top