View by Month

Crankie Workshop with Emily Schubert
Monday, Feb. 22, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern -  8:45 PM Eastern
Contact orpheus@fsgw.org

How can we harness the power of story and art to send messages we believe in out into the world? Crankies are a type of visual storytelling that throughout history have always attempted to do just that. In this workshop students will learn about the history of crankies, assemble their own crankie (or scrolling story) boxes and begin to develop a story based on personal experience, a folktale, song, or poem, through the use of different visual illustrations. Explore the techniques of cut paper, collage, and shadow puppetry with Emily Schubert to bring these stories to life. Brought to you by the Orpheus Workshop with the Folklore Society of Greater Washington. 

About the Artist: Emily Schubert is an interdisciplinary artist working mainly in the worlds of puppetry, performance, storytelling, and collage. She hails from the borderlands of Cincinnati, Ohio/ Northern Kentucky and has a degree in fiber and textile art from the Maryland Institute College of Art. She has participated in puppet theater festivals and workshops in Europe, Indonesia, and the United States, has a passion for small-scale organic farming, and enjoys stilt walking in a good parade! Enthralled by the emotive power and depth of expression achieved through puppetry and storytelling, she believes that within these realms lies a source of real-life magic that is deficient in much of our daily lives. More about Emily at her website.

Time Zone Information

Monday, February 22, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Monday, February 22, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top