View by Month

A Revels Sea Chantey Sing with David Coffin & Special Guests
Friday, Feb. 19, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern

Sing along with Revels Artist in Residence and Chantey man extraordinaire David Coffin and guests us as we explore the history and traditions of sea chanteys!

Join us Friday, February 19th at 7:30 pm ET on Facebook Live when Revels Artist-in-Residence and master chantey man David Coffin leads a rousing chantey sing with special guest, maritime musician, educator, and chantey expert, Celeste Bernardo. Making a cameo appearance will be Revels North Artistic Director Nils Fredland.

Through the course of the evening we will explain but mostly SING many different forms of chanteys; capstan/pumping/windlass, halyard, long and short haul chanteys, to name a few. We will share video clips of chanteys “in action” taken from past Sea Revels productions led by the legendary Lou Killen and others. Plus we’ll take a brief look at the TikTok Chantey craze and share some examples from the platform.

This FREE event will be streamed live on Facebook. (No Facebook account needed.)

For more information, please visit the Revels website.

Time Zone Information

Friday, February 19, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Friday, February 19, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top