View by Month

ECD with Cathy Hollister, Vicki Swan & Johnny Dyer (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Monday, Feb. 8, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Join us for an all-ECD Atlanta DistDance!
When: Monday, Feb 8
Social time: 7:00-9:15 pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Cathy Hollister
Band: Johnny Dyer and Vicki Swan
Link

Enjoy dancing and watching your friends dance, chat and socialize, get some exercise, and enjoy good music. The program of English Country Dances (and a free waltz or two) is selected to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people.

Based in Nashville, TN, Cathy Hollister has been calling English Country Dance both at home and for several area dances. She is know for the breadth of both contemporary and traditional dances in her programs, and her passion is making any dance accessible and fun for all. 

Award-winning multi-instrumentalist Vicki Swan (limiting herself to nyckelharpa and flute for this evening) and competition-winning guitarist Jonny Dyer (piano and accordion) are well known on the British ECD scene. They have played many of the larger UK festivals, dance weekends and smaller events around the country. 

The duo has released about 7 CDs and, as two-thirds of "Purcell’s Polyphonic Party," released their ECD album - An Invitation to Dance - in 2017. Equally at home in contra the pair are known both for their drive and sensitivity to any tune they play. Danceability is core for them. 

Once known mainly for for their instrumental skills with Scottish smallpipes, accordion and Swedish nyckelharpa, they are also impressive songwriters and arrangers.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom lesson for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting and farewells.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Monday, February 8, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, February 8, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, February 8, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, February 8, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, February 9, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top