View by Month

Contra & English with Janine, Cedar and Max (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Friday, Feb. 5, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Enjoy a half contra, half English program, some free waltz and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance.  Join us Friday for another Atlanta DistDance - visit, listen, chat, dance, smile with Janine Smith, Cedar Stanistreet and Max Newman.  (I know, you've never been to a virtual dance because they aren't a real dance. Doesn't mean they aren't fun. Definitely beats Law and Order reruns or your money back.)

When: Friday, 2/5
Social time: 7:00-9:00pm US Eastern time
Optional tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30.
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00
Caller: Janine Smith
Band: Max Newman and Cedar Stanistreet
Link: http://contradance.link/ATLDistDance

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything - the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

Our caller and band are not paid, and rely on your generous tips.  See the bottom of this announcement for tip jar information.

New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Janine Smith calls contra, square, ceilidh, and family dances in the Washington, DC area. She shares her humorous (OK, sometimes goofy) and infectious passion for music and dance with dancers from Glen Echo, MD to Seattle, WA. She specializes in Singing Squares and in generally whoopin’ it up real good. She’s known for her calm, unflappable demeanor, and skill at knowing just which dances to teach and call whether it's to a room full of new and never danced wedding guests or a group of skilled contra dancers looking for a challenge.  She is one of the “Hot Square Babes”, and a founding member of the DC Square Dance Collective.

Cedar Stanistreet (fiddle) and Max Newman (mandolin & guitar) have spent more than a decade playing together, including their time together in the acclaimed dance band, Nor'easter. Even in a chilly Northeast winter, the warm musical friendship they share is inviting, lyrical, and exciting. An evening with them is guaranteed to be a joyous reminder of the pleasure of music and dance. 

The program is selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and be with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus in the great state of Georgia but are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Tip Jar:

Venmo: @MaxNewmanMusic
PayPal Money Pool
PayPal (Please select "paying a friend" to avoid unneccessary Purchase Protection fees.)
And checks may be sent to:
Max Newman
7 Silloway St, Apt 2
Boston, MA 02124

Time Zone Information

Friday, February 5, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, February 6, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top