View by Month

English Clogging Classes - Series 4 - Marley Waltz Clog
Friday, Feb. 5, 2021,  2:00 PM Eastern -  3:00 PM Eastern

Come join me, Renée Camus, for a FOURTH series of classes in English Clogging! This time we'll meet for EIGHT consecutive Fridays, from 11 a.m. to 12 noon Pacific time (2 to 3 p.m. Eastern), starting February 5 through March 26, over Zoom. We’ll get exercise, stay active, and learn a fun percussive dance style while we’re all stuck at home!

English clogging is the perfect dance style to learn during a pandemic lockdown! It’s a solo, individual style of dancing, so social distancing is built right in. It was often danced on pedestals, so it doesn’t take a lot of space. It’s fun and energetic, but not as exhausting as some other dance forms. And you don’t need clogs to take class (but wear ‘em if you got ‘em!).

This new (fourth) series of classes will continue with Waltz Clog steps (as we did in series 3), but with a twist: We'll be learning the Marley Waltz Clog routine! Marley clogging is a style of wooden shoe dancing that was passed down through the generations of the Marley family and performed in the 1890s and on Vaudeville stages in the 1930s. Tony Barrand discovered Anna Marley in the late 1980s and learned these routines from her. Tony and Kari Smith also created a group called the New Dancing Marleys to continue the tradition, and I was a member! I like to think of the style as a connecting link between traditional English clogging and tap dancing. And it's really fun! There are several different routines, of which the Waltz Clog is one. You can read more about this history on this Library of Congress link.

NOTE: Beginners are welcome, BUT we will be adding on, so the class may move a bit faster for absolute beginners.

So far in these series we've done beginner and intermediate hornpipe, beginning waltz, and now Marley waltz clog. As classes go on and additional series are added, I’ll teach different styles of English clogging, including more of the vaudeville-style Marley routines (soft-shoe, buck and wing, etc.). There are tons of steps and lots of different styles of English clogging, so there will be lots of classes to take!

You do not have to own clogs in order to take class! Any thin, hard-soled shoe will do (sneakers might even work, if they’re not too sticky). If you have clogs, feel free to wear them. Try to find a smooth, flat, non-carpeted area to dance in (ie: wood, linoleum etc), or grab a square or rectangular piece of wood to lay on the floor.

Classes are Fridays from 11 a.m. to 12 noon Pacific time (2 to 3 p.m. Eastern)
February 5, 12, 19, 26,
March 5, 12, 19, 26, 2021
All eight weeks for $64 ($8 per class).

Time Zone Information

Friday, February 5, 2021, 11:00 AM Pacific time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 12:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 1:00 PM Central time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 2:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, February 5, 2021, 7:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top