View by Month

Appalachian Clogging Basics Workshops
From Saturday, Feb. 20, 2021 -  9:00 AM Eastern
To Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021 - 12:30 PM Eastern

To register/more information

Workshops – Appalachian Clogging Basics (Levels 1 & 2)

Abby LadinWorkshops at 2 levels on 2 consecutive weeks. Appalachian clogging basics taught by Abby Ladin and Sam Bartlett from the USA. Abby teaches the dancing, and Sam provides accompaniment on 5-string banjo.

These workshops are being jointly hosted with the North American Morris Dance Organization (NAMDO).

Saturday 13th February (week 1) / Saturday 20th February (week 2)

14:00-15:00 Appalachian Clogging Basics Level 1 (not just for beginners!): We’ll explore the fundamental steps, how to string them together and keep a rhythmic pulse. If you already clog, Abby will challenge you with syncopation and beginning improvisation. No Appalachian experience is needed for these sessions.

15:30-16:30 Appalachian Clogging Basics Level 2: We’ll build on the basics and add more steps to our repertoire, work on musicality and tone, improvise and trade rhythms. Experience suggested for level 2: previous percussive/step dance experience in a traditional style (American clogging, English step/clog, French Canadian, Cape Breton, Irish step or Sean Nos). All of those footwork styles will translate well to level 2.

Time Zone Information

Saturday, February 20, 2021, 6:00 AM Pacific time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 7:00 AM Mountain time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 8:00 AM Central time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 9:00 AM Eastern time
Saturday, February 20, 2021, 2:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top