View by Month

All Hands In! Virtual Contra Dance
Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021,  7:30 PM Eastern -  8:45 PM Eastern
Contact text 1/647/989/1555 or email president /at/ tcdance.org

Saturday, January 9th: Maivish w/Bev Bernbaum
Doors at 7:00PM, dance from 7:30 PM - 8:45 PM Eastern

Toronto is joining forces with communities across North America to produce All Hands In, a virtual contra dance event open to dancers world-wide.

January/February 2021 program schedule:

  • Jan 9: Band: Maivish; Caller: Bev Bernbaum
  • Jan 23: Band: Nathan Smith & Emilyn Stam; Caller: Jacqui Grennan
  • Feb 13: Band: Corwin & Grace; Caller: Becky Liddle
  • Feb 27: Band: Countercurrent; Callers: New Dance Showcase: Various callers calling dances written specifically for at-home dancing.

Because this dance uses pre-recorded video to feature our band, it is best if you join via laptop or PC; those joining on a mobile device will have difficulty if they like to pin or watch other dancers. Or join with both – use your PC for sound and your mobile device for pinned dancing.

Have you been to a virtual dance yet? If not, you might be surprised how fun it can be. In virtual (online) contra dancing, dancers interact with imaginary people ("ghosts") in the majority of dances. Because of this, we presume that everyone in attendance has contra dancing experience. Walkthroughs are concise, and there won’t be a beginners’ lesson.

That said, when you dance alone in your living room, the contra line is exactly where you imagine it, and unexpected moves become glorious new choreography! So, everyone is always welcome to join.

To attend the dance, click this link.

Join the event at 7:00PM Eastern on Saturday to join our community social room. There will be a brief introduction to virtual dancing at 7:30PM, and dancing will begin promptly thereafter.

At in-person dances, an entry fee is collected; for All Hands In, we work on the honor system, asking dancers to make a donation to the band. Recommended donation is $10 (more if you can; less if you can’t.)

All of our callers and helpers are volunteering, to help our musicians during a difficult time. You can make your donation to our musicians at this link.

The bands have put in a tremendous amount of work preparing this set of tunes specifically for our dance, so please give generously.

Toronto’s contra dance community hosts the infrastructure and provides the funding to produce All Hands In, with further volunteer assistance from participating communities like ours. Let us know if you would like to volunteer when it is our turn to help out, so we can show up strong as part of this collaborative initiative.

All Hands In is scheduled every 2nd and 4th Saturday evening until we can dance in person again. You can keep track of scheduled dances on the All Hands In Facebook page.

We have a generous limit of 500 participants, so tell your contra dancing friends, and feel free to reshare this announcement.

See you at the dance!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, February 27, 2021, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, February 27, 2021, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, February 27, 2021, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, February 27, 2021, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, February 28, 2021, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top