View by Day

Contra & English with Chet Gray and Tom Cunningham & Kate Sanders (of Hot Coffee Breakdown), an Atlanta DistDance event)
Friday, Jan. 22, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Enjoy a half contra, half English program, some free waltz and a tai chi warmup led by Cis Hinkle, all at Atlanta's Friday DistDance.  If you like coffee, you'll have a great time with Tom Cunningham and Kate Sanders of Hot Coffee Breakdown.  If you don't like coffee, you'll love Chet Gray's calling. (Actually, if you like anything at all, you'll probably have a great time listening, visiting, or dancing on Friday.)

When: Friday, 1/22
Social time: 7:00-9:00pm US Eastern time
Optional tai chi warm-up with Cis Hinkle: 7:10-7:30.
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00
Caller: Chet Gray
Band: Tom Cunningham and Kate Sanders (of Hot Coffee Breakdown)
Link: http://contradance.link/ATLDistDance

If you haven't tried a virtual dance, give it a go. Like live dances, our dances are social events as much as anything - the chance to connect with other dancers, to be part of a community, to remind ourselves of life pre-isolation and look forward to post-isolation. Some people use it like a radio hour and listen while washing dishes or cleaning house. Many don't dance but many do, so enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or listening to good music.

New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

Chet Gray cut his calling teeth in the trad square revival, and has been bringing that lively attitude to contra dances since 2013. Noted for an ease and an energy that he conveys to the dancers, he strives to call from the dancers’ perspective, and draws on a varied repertoire of dances and styles to breathe life into a program. When not dancing or calling, he can be found roasting coffee, playing bass with The New Hoosier Broadcasters, or playing board games, and he's likely to be dancing a little bit while doing any o those, too.

Tom Cunningham (fiddle) and Kate Sanders (keyboard) have been playing together for about 5 years, and have recorded a CD of original waltzes, and 2 CDs with their contra dance band, Hot Coffee Breakdown. They've traveled around the eastern states playing for both contra and English and both compose tunes for dancers. They have been dancing about 30 years, and playing music much longer than that, with influences ranging from Celtic to Appalachian, to French Canadian, jazz, and rock. 

The program is selected to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. You're also welcome to just listen and be with us. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Cis Hinkle, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus in the great state of Georgia but are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta.

Time Zone Information

Friday, January 22, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, January 22, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, January 22, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, January 22, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Saturday, January 23, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top