Online Events Calendar

Appalachian Traditions with Alex Cumming: The Songcatcher - Olive Dame Campbell
Monday, Apr. 19, 2021,  4:00 PM Eastern

John C. Campbell Folk School are excited to present artist, author, and speaker Alex Cumming for our April Appalachian Traditions Discussion on Zoom. Alex Cumming is a singer, accordionist, pianist, and dance caller hailing from Somerset, UK, now living in Greater Boston, MA.

Olive Dame Campbell (1882-1954) left incredible contributions in folk music, song, and dance, though she is most notably remembered as a founder of the John C. Campbell Folk School. Born and raised in Medford, MA, Olive worked as an education reformist and went on to become a folklorist and song collector working across New England and the Appalachians. She also co-published English Folk Songs from the Southern Appalachians with Cecil Sharp. Join us as we explore her legacy through images, stories, and songs. Register on Zoom.

This is part of the Appalachian Traditions Discussion Series. Find out more about the series and view past presentations.

Time Zone Information

Monday, April 19, 2021, 1:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, April 19, 2021, 2:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, April 19, 2021, 3:00 PM Central time
Monday, April 19, 2021, 4:00 PM Eastern time
Monday, April 19, 2021, 9:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
     
Back to Top