Online Events Calendar

Windborne Community Sing
Sunday, Jan. 24, 2021 ,  4:00 PM Eastern

Windborne

Workshop & Concert
Online "Community Sing" at 4pm Eastern
Live-streamed Concert at 7:30pm Eastern

About This Event:

Described as "a feast of a cappella harmony," this quartet of young singers from New England revels in the rich singing traditions of Eastern Europe and North America. They believe deeply in the power of music to change hearts.

Community Sing: 4-5 pm

Learn a selection of songs (in four part harmony!) from Windborne's Song on the Times songbook. Members of the quartet will discuss each song’s origins, and encourage conversation about the content of the song and how meaningful it may be in today’s times. We can't all sing together on Zoom, but with participants muted, singers of all levels can join in from the comfort of their home! The workshop is free.

“We believe that singing can bring communities together, and singing songs of political resistance is as important in the years to come as it was when these songs were written,” says a member of the group.

The members of Windborne are seasoned teachers and song-leaders, and delight groups young and old with enthusiastic, clear, and nuanced instruction for musicians of all levels. Singers learn the notes of a song as well as its cultural context.

Live-stream Concert: 7:30pm

Specializing in close harmony singing, the quartet has a vibrant energy and a strong connection, which is evident in their engaging performance. They also share stories and stylistic nuances of the traditions from which their songs spring. A splendid treat for ears, mind and heart.

The four Windborne singers grew up immersed in the traditional song and dance communities of New England and discovered a love of world folk music in their teens. Over the past decade, Windborne has sought out masters of traditional singing styles in the US and around the world to study a variety of vocal music. Through these collaborations, they have developed the vocal agility and authentic sound for which they are known. Their dynamic concert programs include songs from Corsica, the Republic of Georgia, Bulgaria, Quebec, and Basque country, as well as traditional and original American folk music. They believe deeply in the power of music to change hearts.

In 2014, Windborne was one of ten groups selected by American Music Abroad and the US Department of State to tour as cultural ambassadors through music. They traveled to Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Angola, touring with internationally known artists, performing at sold-out national theaters, and collaborating with traditional musicians in each country. They also taught music and dance workshops to schoolchildren, English-language learners, dance schools, choirs, and music conservatories.

Time Zone Information

Sunday, January 24, 2021, 1:00 PM Pacific time
Sunday, January 24, 2021, 2:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, January 24, 2021, 3:00 PM Central time
Sunday, January 24, 2021, 4:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, January 24, 2021, 9:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top