Online Events Calendar

ECD with Gaye Fifer and Reelplay
Monday, Jan. 25, 2021 ,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Join us for an all-ECD Atlanta DistDance! Our programs of English Country Dances (and a free waltz or two) are selected to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people. On Monday, to celebrate The General Gooviness of the Universe, Gaye Fifer, Christina, and Nancy Dawson (Faithless of late with one St. Malo) meet The Archer in The Mulberry Garden on Easter Morn, where they admire the Duke of Kent's walls (he owns the garden, situated outside an old Roman villa) and dine on a bit of Midwinter Maggot.

New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week!

When: Monday, January 25
Social time: 7:00-9:15 pm US Eastern time
Tai chi warmup: 7:10-7:30 led by Cis Hinkle
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Gaye Fifer
Band: Reelplay
Link

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you.

Gaye Fifer is an accomplished dance caller from Pittsburgh, PA. Gaye's passion is making each and every dance satisfying for dancers. Engaging and easygoing, Gaye calls contra and English dances throughout the U.S. and Canada. An easy smile and delightful sense of humor are part of Gaye's relaxed, pleasant style at the microphone. Gaye is currently President of the Board of CDSS.

Reelplay is an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts featuring Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). In addition to ECD music, they enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!"

Listen to Reelplay here

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing and Zoom assistance for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, January 25, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, January 25, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, January 25, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, January 25, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, January 26, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top