Online Events Calendar

Virtual Contra Dance with ContraForce and Emily Abel!
Saturday, Nov. 21, 2020 ,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern

Charleston-based quartet ContraForce (Joey, Jimi, Andrae and Karin) is rooted in traditional folk music and contra dance and their energized psychedelic sound is a hurricane of wild, energetic, kicking contra music that will leave you out of breath with a smile on your face.

Emily “Rainbowface” Abel has called all over the eastern and midwestern United States for dance weekends and regular dances, often attended by inexperienced dancers. She toured for three years with ContraForce and knows the band well. Emily's calling style is brightened by eager enthusiasm and interesting programs. Stylistically, she is known for singing her calls while matching the tone and rhythm of the tunes.

Virtual contra dances require knowledge of contra positions and choreography. Dancers will be interacting with imaginary people or their partners in their homes. We are assuming everyone is a reasonably experienced contra dancer. The good news is that when you dance alone, the contra line is exactly where you imagine it, and unexpected moves become glorious new choreography! And if you don’t feel like dancing, you can sit back and enjoy the beautiful sounds of ContraForce from the comfort of your living room.

Join the event any time between 7:00 and 7:30 pm Eastern on Saturday. There will be a beginner lesson with Kelly Macklin at 7:10 in a breakout room, and regular dancing will start at 7:30. We’ll have a waltz at the break, and some social time, wrapping up the dance at 9 pm. Becca and Russ and Paul from Charleston Folk will be our Zoom hosts and emcees.

For our virtual contra dance, we rely on the honor system, asking dancers to make a donation to the band and caller. Recommended donation is $10 (more if you can; less if you can’t). Links will be provided in the chat.For those new to Zoom, we recommend watching a Zoom tutorial before the dance. Basically you just need to click on the dance link at your computer (a computer screen works much better than a phone) and you will be in the dance meeting. Your microphone will be muted most of the time so we can hear the caller. You can switch back and forth from Speaker view to Gallery view to see who else is there.

We look forward to seeing you at the dance!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, November 21, 2020, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, November 21, 2020, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, November 21, 2020, 6:00 PM Central time
Saturday, November 21, 2020, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, November 22, 2020, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Go To Top