Online Events Calendar

Contra & ECD with April Blum and Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance Event)
Friday, Oct. 30, 2020 ,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus - dmarcus123@gmail.com

Join us for Contra, ECD, waltz, tai chi and more at Atlanta's Virtual Friday DistDance!

When: Friday Oct 30; doors open 7:00pm EDT (0:00 BST; 4:00pm PDT); live music and dance 7:30-8:45
Caller: April Blum
Band: Reelplay
Link

Enjoy dancing if you are moved, or just enjoy chatting with your friends or enjoying good music. The program of contra and ECD (and a free waltz or two) is selected by the caller to be easy and satisfying with one or two people. If you'd like to warm up with 20 minutes of tai chi, arrive at 7:10 for a session with Cis Hinkle.

April Blum has a knack for choosing interesting and fun dances (and this program will include a certain creepy spider's theme from Harry Potter and perhaps even some Halloween Sousa.) Her teaching is clear and concise, and her calling is skilled and enthusiastic - and with a leavening of humor that rises to every occasion. 

Reelplay is a dance band from Atlanta with Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion) that has delighted dancers from all over. As the core of 'Round Robbin, they have lifted dancers feet and hearts at ECDs in Atlanta and the Southeast. Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!" Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for a Zoom lesson for those who would like it and social time for those who’ve done it before. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event.

Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at 8:45, and the hall will remain open for another 15 minutes for chitchat and farewells.

Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling (larks and robins).

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you Friday!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Seth Tepfer, Kimbi Sessions Hagen, Cis Hinkle, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. They are not sponsored by the Chattahoochee Contra Dancers or ECD Atlanta. 

Time Zone Information

Friday, October 30, 2020, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Friday, October 30, 2020, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Friday, October 30, 2020, 6:00 PM Central time
Friday, October 30, 2020, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Friday, October 30, 2020, 11:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Go To Top