Online Events Calendar

Wednesday Walkthroughs
Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2020 ,  1:00 PM Eastern -  2:00 PM Eastern

In this series (ongoing since July 15, but very drop-in friendly), caller Louise Siddons walks through her process of adapting dances for solo dancers, choosing new dances each week, and thinking about new choreography. Each week, we see the original choreography, and then Louise proposes and calls a solo adaptation. After we dance, together we talk about if the adaptation feels good, and why — and often suggest alternatives. Louise introduces some variety of dance genres and blur the lines between them — and she encourages participants to do the same.

In the past, we've explored things like formation, progression, new figures, and the question of adaptation itself.

Dances will be approached from a positional framework (in other words, we’re going to be gender-free by default, as solo dancers), and participants are encouraged to think holistically about pattern, momentum, and space.

These workshops are free and open to anyone who is interested. Sign up here to receive weekly details.

Find out more about Louise and see notes from past workshops on her website.

Time Zone Information

Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 10:00 AM Pacific time
Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 11:00 AM Mountain time
Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 12:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 1:00 PM Eastern time
Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 5:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Go To Top