Online Events Calendar

Dynamic Guitar Accompaniment w/Myron Grant
Sunday, Nov. 1, 2020 ,  7:30 PM Eastern -  8:30 PM Eastern
Contact Michael Bean @ mbean@emich.edu, aactmad.org/

The Ann Arbor Community for Traditional Music and Dance invites you to participate in a three part virtual guitar workshop taught by Myron Grant. Myron can be found playing contra dances with Big Fun, swing and jazz with Treetown Stringtette, rock with The Cellar Cats, and folk/country/swing with Playin' Chicken. Myron was a founding member of the band Footloose and of the swing band Five Guys Named Moe, both of which performed extensively throughout the Midwest for decades.

This virtual workshop will explore varying accompaniment styles that energize and add interest to back-up guitar playing. It will focus on playing up the neck, using different chord shapes and rhythms that add excitement to the tune. It will be geared towards intermediate level students who already have some proficiency playing bar chords.

The workshops will take place on Oct 18th, Oct 25th, and Nov 1st at 7:30pm EST.

To register for this workshop, please fill out this Google form. Once you have completed the form, you will receive an email with a link to the Zoom meeting.

This workshop series is sponsored by the Ann Arbor Community for Traditional Music and Dance. There is no charge for the workshop, although participants are invited to make a contribution. If you wish to make a donation, you may do so by going to AACTMAD, click on donate, and under "Use this donation for," select general donation. Once logged into PayPal, please indicate that this is for the guitar workshop. Alternatively, you can send a check made out to AACTMAD at 4531 Concourse Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (be sure to write "guitar workshop" in the memo line).

Facebook Event

Time Zone Information

Sunday, November 1, 2020, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Sunday, November 1, 2020, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Sunday, November 1, 2020, 6:30 PM Central time
Sunday, November 1, 2020, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Monday, November 2, 2020, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Go To Top