Online Events Calendar

Virtual Contra Dance – Hosted by Toronto; Open to All!
Saturday, Aug. 8, 2020 ,  7:30 PM EDT -  8:45 PM EDT
Contact text: 1/647/989/1555 or email: president /at/ tcdance.org

Saturday, August 8, 2020, “Doors” at 7:15PM, Dance from 7:30 PM -  8:45 PM

Join dancers across the continent for the next dance in our Virtual Dance series – suitable for solo dancers, and couples as well!

Teen brother fiddle/cello duo Dante and Eros Faulk, from Olympia, WA, combine their knowledge and deep love for traditional Celtic music with their creativity and awareness of a wide variety of music, which yields an inventive and contemporary sound that is still true to their traditional roots. They have recently released their second album, produced by renowned fiddle player Ryan McKasson, and across Pacific Northwest they extensively perform concerts, festivals, and contradances full of traditional and original tunes with exciting, innovative arrangements. 

JoLaine Jones-Pokorney, from Gainesville, Florida, has called from Maine to California. She was one of the "up and coming" callers at Catalpult Showcase in 2013, and one of the callers for the New England Folk Festival (NEFFA) in 2015 and 2019. She calls positionally (no role names used).

Dancers will be interacting with imaginary people ("ghosts") in the majority of dances, so we are assuming everyone has contra dancing experience. There will be no beginners’ lesson.

But the good news is that when you dance alone in your living room, the contra line is exactly where you imagine it, and unexpected moves become glorious new choreography! So, everyone is welcome to join!

To attend the dance, click this link

Join the event any time between 7:15 and 7:30PM Eastern on Saturday. There will be a brief introduction to virtual dancing at 7:30PM, and dancing will begin promptly thereafter.

We are holding virtual contra dances every 2nd and 4th Saturday evening until we can dance in person again. You can keep track of scheduled dances here or on the Toronto Contra Dance Facebook page.

We have a generous limit of 500 participants, so tell your contra dancing friends, and feel free to reshare this announcement to your local contra dance websites!

At our in person dances, an entry fee is collected; for our Virtual Contra Dance series, we work on the honour system, asking dancers to make a donation to the band. Recommended donation is $10 (more if you can; less if you can’t). 

Our callers and helpers are volunteering their time to help our musicians during a difficult time. You can make your donation to our musicians at this link.

The band has put in countless hours recording music specifically for our dance, so please give generously.

Toronto’s Virtual Contra is organized by Becky Liddle and Drew Delaware, with help from other Toronto area folks.

See you at the dance!

Time Zone Information

Saturday, August 8, 2020, 4:30 PM Pacific time
Saturday, August 8, 2020, 5:30 PM Mountain time
Saturday, August 8, 2020, 6:30 PM Central time
Saturday, August 8, 2020, 7:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, August 9, 2020, 12:30 AM United Kingdom time

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Go To Top