Online waltz party with live musiciansOnline Events Calendar

Welcome to the events calendar!

This is a fantastic place to learn about traditional dance, music, and song activities happening every week throughout North America…and beyond. All of the events that are listed are currently virtual, in keeping with health recommendations during this stage of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Know of an event to include in the calendar? Share it here!

Tips for running online events: For help setting up your online event and creating the best possible sonic experience, we recommend these guides:

Other calendars of interest: Check out the following calendars that also include online traditional dance, music, and song events.


Choose a category to narrow the list:

Online Events Calendar

Previous month Previous day Next day Next month
By Year By Month By Week Today Search Jump to month
ECD style and technique class
Wednesday, Aug. 26, 2020 ,  9:00 PM EDT - 10:00 PM EDT
Contact camusr6@gmail.com

Announcing: A New Online Dance Class!

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been feeling a little down with our current situation and missing all the dancing that’s been canceled. You may also feel a little out of shape because we’re not able to dance as often as we did with others. Well maybe it’s time to do something about that! :)

I’m excited to announce a new class (series) I’ll be teaching, in collaboration with the Historical Tea & Dance Society:

ECD Style and Technique

Since we’re all stuck at home and unable to dance with other people, I thought it might be a good time to offer a class that focuses on English country dance movement and style: how to improve our quality of dancing, including posture, footfalls, rhythm, arms, and balance (among other things), all while getting some good exercise so we’ll be physically ready when we’re finally allowed to return to dancing with others.

I will start with one session and see how it goes, but we’ll probably do a series of several weeks. Eventually we may get into other types of dance and historical periods too (ie: regency footwork, waltz, renaissance dance styles, etc.).

Join us THIS WEDNESDAY at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT). The class will be an hour, and then folks can hang out and chat afterward if they’d like to (at 7 p.m.).

The class is FREE, but donations will be gratefully accepted (as a caller and dance teacher, my income has dropped significantly with all the cancellations, so I would be grateful for anything you’re able to contribute). PayPal me at camusr6 at gmail dot com (if you can use the "send to a friend" option, I would be grateful).

Feel free to share this with others who might be interested. Join our Facebook event.

If you'd like to join us on Wednesday, please fill out the Google form at this link, and read the important information provided.

We will send the Zoom information to attendees by email on Wednesday.

Hope to see you then!

About Renée:

Renée Camus is a writer and dancer now living in San Fernando, California, with her animator husband and four beautiful cats. She started learning ballet at age 5, and English country and American contra dancing at Pinewoods at age 8. After receiving a master’s degree in dance history, she founded and directed a dance company, called Centuries Historical Dance, dedicated to preserving and presenting historical social dance, and produced the DVD "Dancing through the Centuries: Dawn of a New World," serving as writer, director, narrator, choreographer, and dancer. She has taught various styles of dance around the Washington DC area, including tap, Irish step dancing, ballroom, and ECD, and has taught at many dance camps around the country, including Pinewoods, Berea, Cumberland, Terpsichore’s Holiday, Flying Cloud Academy’s Vintage Dance Week in Cincinnati, and the Newport Vintage Dance Week in Rhode Island.

She is a regular caller (not to mention designed and maintains the website) for Culver City English Country Dance, and she recently began writing her own English country dances (soon to be published on her website). She’s also a scholar and artist in musical theatre, having served as director, choreographer, performer, and critic for many productions, including The Merry Widow with Opera Camerata of Washington, and The Devil’s Christmas Carol at the DC Fringe Festival. She recently published a chapter on “Joss Whedon and the Geek Musical” in the Routledge Companion to the Contemporary Stage Musical, and she’s been published in the Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles magazine, LA Weekly, Entertainment Weekly, New York Observer, The Toast, The Billfold, and Mashable, among others.

Location  ONLINE
ONLINE
ONLINE
Time Zone Information

Wednesday, August 26, 2020, 6:00 PM Pacific time
Wednesday, August 26, 2020, 7:00 PM Mountain time
Wednesday, August 26, 2020, 8:00 PM Central time
Wednesday, August 26, 2020, 9:00 PM Eastern time
Thursday, August 27, 2020, 2:00 AM United Kingdom time

     
Go To Top