Add an Event Online Events! Cancelled Events

Note on Cancellations and Online Events

We are maintaining a list of cancellations, as well as a wide range of online events! We welcome new events and cancellations; please follow the instructions on the Submit an Event page.

If you need to cancel an event that is already listed in the CDSS calendar, please email Anne Campbell at webmaster@cdss.org with the event name, date, and location.

 

Events Calendar

Hannah James and Friends
Sunday, May 24, 2020,  2:30 PM -  4:00 PM

Described as “a true original” by the Guardian, spellbindingly innovative musician and dancer Hannah James has been one of the key figures in the revival of English percussive dance in recent years.

Hannah's show at Folk Weekend this year was incredible so we just had to get her back for a repeat performance! We know there were a few technical wobbles at times and Hannah and her housemates are working hard on the sound and video quality to bring you the best show they can.

Renowned as one of the best accordionists on the British folk scene, her musicianship extends far beyond the tradition and flawlessly incorporates beautiful vocal stylings with both classic and contemporary applications of English clog dance. She amazed audiences across the UK showcasing all of these with her breathtaking one-woman show, JigDoll, when she unveiled it in 2015. A collaborative project which she featured in, Songs of Separation, won the BBC Radio 2 folk award for Best Album in 2017. Her vocal trio Lady Maisery have produced three critically acclaimed albums and have also been nominated for the Horizon award at the BBC folk awards, and her previous duo with Sam Sweeney gained a Best Duo nomination in 2013. 

Hannah also works with legendary folk singer Maddy Prior in a trio which has just released a second album. In 2016 she was asked to dance with Seasick Steve on stage at Wembley arena to 10,000 people, and joined him again on Jools Hollands’ Hootenanny which was broadcast nationally on BBC 2. Her music is rooted in the English Tradition but is also influenced by her travels and collaborations with many international artists and her time studying at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki.

Standard ticket £14

Time Zone Information

Sunday, May 24, 2020, 11:30 AM Pacific time
Sunday, May 24, 2020, 12:30 PM Mountain time
Sunday, May 24, 2020, 1:30 PM Central time
Sunday, May 24, 2020, 2:30 PM Eastern time
Sunday, May 24, 2020, 7:30 PM United Kingdom time

     
Go To Top