Add an Event Online Events! Cancelled Events

Note on Cancellations and Online Events

We are maintaining a list of cancellations, as well as a wide range of online events! We welcome new events and cancellations; please follow the instructions on the Submit an Event page.

If you need to cancel an event that is already listed in the CDSS calendar, please email Anne Campbell at webmaster@cdss.org with the event name, date, and location.

 

Events Calendar

CANCELLED: "Connect the Dots!" Musicians Workshop, Philadelphia, PA
Sunday, March 22, 2020,  2:00 PM -  5:00 PM

CANCELLED:

Connect the Dots!

Workshop with Andrea Larson

We hope to reschedule, date unknown.

In music notation, the little black dots on the page are just the tip of the iceberg. A musician's work on the fundamentals of music - rhythm, tuning, tone, etc. - requires steady application, as do the things these fundamentals make possible: performing, playing in ensembles, playing for dancing, etc. If each day of practice was a dot on a graph and each element was plotted as well, we could see web-like lines created by the daily work. In this workshop, we will work on strategies to create a continuously broadening foundation of musical skills that can be enjoyed by an individual and brought to a group.

Andrea Larson, a guest teacher in the fall of 2014, is back to share practical solutions to the many parts of the puzzle that can make music satisfying: a good connection to your instrument, your band mates, yourself. How can these connections be forged? Learn to be more objective and find language to express your musical thoughts, ideas and suggestions. Find the source of motivation for practicing through practice itself.

Location Summit Presbyterian Church
6757 Greene Street
Philadelphia
PA
19119
USA
Time Zone Information

Sunday, March 22, 2020, 11:00 AM Pacific time
Sunday, March 22, 2020, 12:00 PM Mountain time
Sunday, March 22, 2020, 1:00 PM Central time
Sunday, March 22, 2020, 2:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, March 22, 2020, 6:00 PM United Kingdom time

     
Go To Top