Board Officers
Board Members at Large
2018 Governing Board Nominations
Annual Meeting Minutes
Board Nomination Deadline


The geographically diverse Board is listed below. Correspondence for them may be sent to For photos and bios of Board members, click on the individual names.


Name State Term Ends Office
David Millstone NH 2018 President
Dorcas Hand TX 2020 Vice President
Brooke Friendly OR 2020 Secretary
Craig Meltzner CA 2018 Treasurer

Board Members At Large

Name State Term Ends
Peter Baker MI 2020
Nancy Barbour NJ 2019
Gaye Fifer PA 2021
Beverly Francis NJ 2020
Mark Galipeau CA 2018
Katy Heine NY 2019
Lorraine Lee Hammond MA 2018
Donald Hughes NC 2020
Susie Lorand MI 2020
Frannie Marr CA 2019
Sharon McKinley MD 2020
Pam Paulsen  WI 2018
Doug Plummer WA 2018
David Roodman DC 2019
John Seto CA 2019
David Shewmaker DC 2018
Norm Stewart KY 2019
Chris Weiler VT 2020


Every year the Nominating Committee nominates one or more candidates for each position becoming vacant among the officers and Governing Board members at large, taking into account needed skills, geographic diversity, and a balance of interests and backgrounds. Click here for the 2018 nominating slate and accompanying biographies. 


The minutes from the most recent Annual Meeting of the Governing Board are available here.


The CDSS Governing Board will have positions to be filled next year and would really appreciate your nomination suggestions. Think about yourself and the people you know in your community and beyond. We’re always looking for great people who have the appropriate mix of skills, experience, time, energy, teamwork style and have a passion for traditional dance music and song. Skills that are always needed are fundraising, accounting/financial expertise or business acumen, or other board experience. There are also opportunities to serve CDSS on committees and task groups as community members.

If you know someone who fits any of these criteria, please send your suggestions to us with the following information:

  • Person’s contact information (email address and phone number)
  • How they are involved in CDSS traditions (e.g., singer, dancer, musician, organizer, etc.
  • Professional and personal skills they would bring to the Board (or committees/task groups)
  • Why they would be a good Board (or committees/task group) member

Send suggestions by June 30, 2018 to the CDSS Nominating Committee via email to or by mail to Pam Paulson, 235 S Greenfield Ave., Waukesha, WI 53186.

Each year, the Committee goes through a process of reviewing our list of great people and the names you suggest, against the skills and qualities needed on the Board for the year ahead in order to put together a slate of the best candidates. We encourage anyone who might be interested in this process to get in touch with us and learn more about the Board. In addition, the CDSS Bylaws allow a member or members to submit nominations directly to the slate, bypassing the selection process, by sending the information listed above, signed by 10 members of CDSS by June 30. (Submission of this nomination does not guarantee a position on the Board). Please see the CDSS Bylaws (Article 7) at for more details.

Pam Paulson, Chair,
CDSS Nominating Committee


Go To Top